Rana steers Kathmandu to comprehensive victory

Kathmandu, October 27:

Ayush Rana scored an unbeaten 88 to steer Kathmandu to a comprehensive 77-run victory over Bhaktapur while Lalitpur defeated Nuwakot by 34 runs in the Region No 3 (Kathmandu) Selection Cricket Tournament here at the Tribhuvan University Stadium today.

Kathmandu scored a massive 169-1 in their allotted 23 overs before dismissing Bhaktapur for 92 runs in 21.1 overs. Man of the match Rana struck 12 fours and a six in his 72-ball knock. Rana’ opening partner Bijay Gautam also scored 60-ball 48 before Saugan Kayastha dismissed

him in the 21st over. Rana and Gautam put on 139 for the opening stand.

Chasing 170, Bhaktapur were never in contention losing wickets in regular intervals. Kabi Khagi top scored with 19 and Sandeep Pandey contributed run-a-ball 18 for Bhaktapur. None of the other Bhaktapur batsmen could score in double figures. Prajesh Bahadur Singh was the pick of the Kathmandu bowlers with 3-6 from 3.1 overs. Nupur Pandey also took 2-11 while Ujjwol Thapa, Subash Shrestha, Uday Shrestha and Prithu Baskota claimed one wicket each.

Earlier in the day, Lalitpur scored 117-7 in 23 overs after put into bat first by Nuwakot. In reply, Nuwakot were all out for 83 in 19.1 overs. Lalitpur opener Pramod Yadav scored 54-ball 32 and Harsh Kandoi chipped in with 13. Lalitpur got 41 runs through extras. Manish Gurung took three (3-20) and Keshav Yadav two (2-14) wickets for Nuwakot. Dipendra Pudasaini and Pradip Aryal also claimed one wicket each.

Chasing 118 to win, Nuwakot were jolted early in the first over with Pradeep Maharjan dismissing Manish Gurung with just one run on the board. Any hopes of making a comeback soon evaporated after Samiem Akhtar dismissed four other top-order Nuwakot batsmen. Kehav Yadav put some resistance with a superb 39-ball 34 before Lalitpur completed the formality in the 20th over. Opener Raju Thapa (16) was the only other Nuwakot batsman to score in double figures. Man of the match Samiem Akhtar finished with 4-10 and Nasim Akhtar 3-18. Pradeep Maharjan also claimed two and Rochak Bhatta one wicket for Lalitpur.

Kathmandu will meet Nuwakot and Bhaktapur will face Lalitpur on Tuesday.