Joshi, Tamang win gold medals

KATHMANDU: Ritij Joshi and Dikshya Tamang won gold medals in the 12th Hareram Joshi Memorial Open Table Tennis Tournament here on Monday.

Joshi beating Rajiv Chikanbanjar and Tamang defeated Dikshya Dahal with identical scores of 4-1 in finals.

Similarly, Samyog Kapali of AVM School won the boys’ U-16 event with a 3-0 win against Rekhan Tamang of Proxima. NIC Academy’s Samikshya Bhattarai claimed U-12 girls’ singles gold beating Shuvashree Shrestha of Ullens School.

Other winners of the event were Bikesh Thapa (men’s above-40 veteran), Kapur Sharma (above-50), Gowardhan Shrestha (above-60) and Indira Paudel (women’s veteran).

Minister for Energy Mohendra Bahadur Shahi and National Sports Council Member Secretary Keshab Kumar Bista handed over prizes to the winners.

A total of 75 players took part in the two-day tournament organised by Hare Ram Joshi Memorial Foundation.