Rohit Sharma ruled out of England tests, Ishant Sharma returns

MUMBAI: Injured openers Shikhar Dhawan and KL Rahul and middle-order batsman Rohit Sharma have been ruled out of India's first two tests against England, the country's cricket board said on Wednesday.

Fast bowler Ishant Sharma returned to the 15-man squad after missing the test series against New Zealand due to illness while uncapped all-rounder Hardik Pandya received a first call-up to the national side for the longer format.

Right-hander Rohit, who bats in the middle order in the test team, suffered a thigh injury during the final one-day international against New Zealand.

He was expected to be sidelined for six to eight weeks, with a possibility that he may also need to undergo surgery, India's selection committee chief MSK Prasad told reporters.

Rahul suffered a hamstring injury during the first test against New Zealand in September and is still recuperating.

His opening partner Dhawan fractured his left thumb after being hit twice in the same area during the second New Zealand test in Kolkata and his place was taken by Gautam Gambhir in the following match at Indore.

Recalled after two years, Gambhir scored a half century in the second innings against New Zealand and is expected to open alongside Murali Vijay when the opening match of the five-test series against England kicks off in Rajkot next week.

Ishant was ruled out of the New Zealand series after failing to recover from the mosquito-borne viral disease Chikungunya but has proved his fitness by bowling extensively in domestic Ranji Trophy matches.

The 23-year-old Pandya, who bowls medium pace and is an useful lower-order batsman, made his 50-over debut for India in the series against New Zealand and has now been fast-tracked to the test squad.

Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja will lead India's spin attack against the English batsmen, who had a torrid time in their drawn two-test series in Bangladesh recently.

Leg-spinner Amit Mishra and off-spinner Jayant Yadav are the other slow bowlers in the squad.

Squad: Gautam Gambhir, Murali Vijay, Karun Nair, Virat Kohli (captain), Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Wriddhiman Sahs (wicketkeeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Amit Mishra, Ravindra Jadeja, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jayant Yadav, Hardik Pandya