KATHMANDU: National cyclist Padam Sabenhang won the third Berghaus Yak Attack 2009, organised jointly by the Extreme World Challenges UK, Dawn Till Dusk Mountain Bike Trekking Pvt Ltd and Nepal Cycling Association, on Tuesday.

Sabenhang clocked 18 hours, 34 minutes and 56 seconds to win the overall championship. Deepa Raj Rai finished second in 19:18:30 and Mangal Rai (19:25:35) third in the event that started from Besi Sahar (Lamjung) on May 27 and ended in Beni (Myagdi). Among the others to finish at the top 10 were Ajay Pandit (21:13:16), Dipendra Bajracharya (21:46:46), Pasang Sherpa (21:55:30), Chandra Chhetri (22:37:19), Phil Evans (27:17:15), Surendra Rai (28:58:05), John McDonnell (29:0956). The cyclists covered a distance of 227km over the six days.

Apart from the overall championship, Sabenhhang also won two stages - first and sixth. Deepak Raj Rai also won two stages while Ajay Pandit and Rajiv Rai won one stage each. Sabenhhang won the first stage that began from Besi Sahar and ended in Taal on May 27. He clocked 4:04:34, only five seconds better Mangal Lama during the 40km course. Rajiv Rai Ajay Pandit came third and fourth respectively.

Ajay Pandit claimed the second stage in 2:37:05 ahead of Sabenhhang (2:48:30), Mangal Lama (2:49:05) and Deepak Raj Rai (2:50:15). The 23km uphill route from Taal culminated in Chame. Rajiv Rai won the 30km course from Chame to Manang in 2:04:57, just one second faster than Sabenhhang. Mangal Lama (2:09:28) and Ajay Pandit (2:11:15 finished third and fourth.

Deepak Rai then won the next two stages. He timed 2:26.11 in the 17km Manang to Thorong Phedi route well ahead of second-placed Rajiv Rai (2:56:06). He also beat his closest opponent Pasang Sherpa (3:34:30) to win the fifth stage in 2:59:30.

Sabenhhang ensured the overall championship by winning the sixth and final stage in 3:08:01. Mangal Lama (3:15:08) ended up second and Dipendra Bajracharya (3:40:26) third. Winners of each stage received $100 while the overall winner g0t $500.