Samana YC win football title

Lamjung: Samana Youth Club of Tanahun won the title of the 25th Triveni Club Open Nationwide Football Tournament here in Besisahar today.

Samana defeated Triveni Youth Club 2-0 in the final riding on a brace from Santa Bahadur Gurung. Gurung opened the scoring for Samana in the 10th minute on his solo effort and doubled the tally in the 27th minute. Triveni pushed hard for goals and also created a couple of chances but Samana goalkeeper Arpan Karki stood firm at his goal.

Champions Samana received Rs 300,000 along with the trophy, while runners-up Triveni earned Rs 150,000. The two losing semi-finallists, Besisahar Youth Society’s Team Red and Green got Rs 50,000 each. Samana’s Santa Bahadur Gurung and Bhakta Ale Magar as well as Triveni’s Basant Gurung and Nitesh Malla were joint highest goal scorers and got Rs 4,000 each.