Bajracharya, Rana win titles

Lalitpur, September 28

Samrakshyak Bhushan Bajracharya and Mayanka Rana won the titles of the first National Open Lawn Tennis Tournament here at the Tennis Complex today.

In the men’s singles final, Bajracharya outplayed former national champion Kamal Bhandari 4-6, 7-5, 6-4 to claim the title. Santosh Khatri and Nabin Pun  finished joint third.

Likewise, Rana also came from a set down to see off

Ira Rawat 6-7, 6-2, 6-3 in the women’s title clash. Mahika Rana and Bhagwati BK were joint third.

The pair of Rana sisters had won the women’s doubles title, while the duo of Shree Ram Magar and Bhandari had claimed the men’s doubles gold medal.

The winners of all four categories earned Rs 20,000, while the runners-up bagged Rs 10,000 and third place finishers got Rs 5,000 each.

A total of 90 players took part in the tournament organised by Lalitpur District Lawn Tennis Association.