Saraswoti clinch ‘B’ Div Championship

Kathmandu, January 3:

Saraswoti Youth Club won the Martyrs Memorial ‘B’ Division League despite their 3-1 loss to Brigade Boys Club (BBC) in the last super league match at the Dasharath Stadium today.

The loss means Saraswoti and United Youth Club earned six points each but the former won the championship on better goal difference. Saraswoti scored 11 goals and conceded seven while United scored five and conceded eight.

The win gave BBC the third place finish with four points. Bouddha came fourth in the four-team super league with one point. All the four clubs have already been promoted to ‘A’ Division.

Diwas Gurung put BBC in front in the 38th minute before Aakash Chhantyal made it 2-0 two minutes later. Although Yogesh Gurung reduced the deficit in the 52nd Aakash ensured BBC’s victory with his second goal in the 82nd.

Saraswoti received Rs 100,000 while United took home Rs 50,000. Likwise BBC got Rs 35,000 and Bouddha Rs 20,000. In all, nine teams took part in the league organised by Nepal Football Association.

Yogesh Gurung of Saraswoti won the best forward award while Milan Chandra Rai claimed the best midfielder honour. Pankaj Lama of Saraswoti and Dasharath Adhikari of Boudha were declared the best defender and goalkeeper respectively. Raju Pulami was adjudged the best coach for guiding Saraswoti to the championship. All the five best individuals earned a purse of Rs 10,000 each.

Saraswoti became the second team to win the ‘B’ Division League in a single year (Nepali calander). Swoyambhu Youth Club won the ‘B’ Division League organised by All Nepal Football Association in September. ANFA also promoted four teams to the upper Division.