BK, Shah win titles

LALITPUR: Saugat BK and Rayana Shah won the singles titles of the ATF Asian U-14 Ranking Tennis Championship here at the Lawn Tennis Complex on Friday.

BK defeated Chirag Timilsina 6-1, 7-5, while Shah beat Shubhangee Laxmi Shah 6-0, 6-3 in all-Nepal finals. On Thursday, Azaa Regmi and Shubhangee Laxmi Shah had bagged the girls’ doubles title, while Saugat BK had paired with India’s Manuraj Singh to win the boys’ section title.

A total of 47 players from five countries — 37 from Nepal, six from India, two from Switzerland and one each from Japan and Malaysia — took part in the five-day tournament. Nepal Tennis Association President Jyoti Rana handed over the prizes to the winners.