Shah felicitated

Kathmandu, August 25:

Former president of Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) Jai Kumar Nath Shah was felicitated here today. Gairidhari Club honoured Shah after her was awarded an honorary lifetime membership by Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC), one of the oldest English cricket clubs, recently. Shah was granted the member for his contribution for the development of Nepali cricket. MCC membership is considered as a great honour in world cricket.

Founding member of CAN Sharada Bhakta Pant and CAN treasurer Raju Babu Shrestha presented the letter of felicitation to Shah.

Speaking on the occasion, CAN president Binay Raj Pandey and Gairidhara Club president Pradeep Mani Dixit highlighted the contribution of Shah in the development of cricket in Nepal. Shah was also awarded the ICC Lifetime Achievement Award in 2005.

Formed in 1787, MCC was formerly the governing body of cricket in England and across the world. Most of its global functions were passed on to the International Cricket Council (ICC) in 1993 and its England governance was passed to England and Wales Cricket Board at the same time. MCC still remains the frames and copyright holder of the Laws of Cricket. MCC has 18,000 full members and 4,000 associate members. ICC was founded as the Imperial Cricket Conference in 1909 by representatives from England, Australia and South Africa and was renamed the International Cricket Conference in 1965 before taking up the current name in 1989.