Shahi wins Himalayan Bank Cup

Kathmandu, January 9

Sanyog Shahi won the title of the Himalayan Bank Cup Golf Tournament here at the Royal Nepal Golf Club today.

Shahi, who completed his round on Friday, accumulated 36 points to claim the trophy. The 12-handicap golfer scored 18 points each on both halves. He also won the closest-to-the-pin award on the 12th hole. Purna Man Shakya came second with 35 points.

Vivek SJB Rana won the gross section title with 29 points. Pratima Sherpa lifted the women's section trophy with 35 points, while Sabitri Rai finished second with 32 points.

Gopal Chitrakar won the senior category title with 26 points, while Bhai Raja Pandey came second with 25 points. Maj Narendra Kumar Rai claimed the super senior section trophy with 29 points, whereas Maj Him Raj Gurung was second with 23 points. Pradeep Kumar Shrestha won the special eagle prize on Hole No 4.

SSP Rajendra Shrestha won the guest section title with 33 points, while V Lwin Oo came second with 31 points. Samir Acharya was the winner among the HBL family members with 24 points, while Subham Agrawal bagged the junior category award with 16 points and Surya Aditya Rana was second with 14 points. Subash Ghising scored 21 points to finish first among Golf Development members.

Maj Nischaya Jung Rayamajhi (most birdies), Saroj Bastakoti (longest drive), and Sonny Baral (23rd position) were the other winners of the tournament sponsored by Himalayan Bank Limited.

The winners received trophies and gift hampers from Shangrila Village, Pokhara, Budha Air, Himalaya Hotel, Hotel Soaltee, Ballantine’s, Hotel Dwarika, Dhokaima Cafe, Hotel Yak & Yeti and Koto Restaurant. Founder and former Chairman of Himalayan Bank Limited Himalaya SJB Rana and RNGC President Rabindra Man Shrestha along with other officials handed over the prizes.