Shakti powers Bhairahawa to victory

Kathmandu, May 24 :

Region No 4 (Bhairahawa), Region No 1 (Biratnagar), Region No 3 (Kathmandu) and Region No 2 (Birgunj) entered the semi-finals of the fifth National Cricket Tournament today.

Bhairahawa topped Group ‘A’ with six points while Biratnagar advanced as runners up.

The last match between Region No 2 (Birgunj) and Region No 3 (Kathmandu) will decide the winner in Group ‘B’.

On Wednesday, Bhairahawa thumped Nepalgunj by 158 runs while Birgunj beat Baitadi by six wickets.

Electing to bat, Bhairahawa amassed 244 runs in 49.4 overs. In reply, Nepalgunj was packed up for 86 runs in 36.4 overs.

Openers Dipen Lamgaday (40) and Manoj Baisya (18) put on 67-run stand for the first wicket. Lamgaday then added another 23 runs with Subash Pradhan. Pradhan (38) then added 50 runs for the third wicket with Antim Thapa, who scored 59.

Sashi Ranjan Karn claimed three wickets for Nepalgunj. In reply, Nepalgunj could muster just 86 runs. Shahid Riza top-scored with 32 runs. Bhairahawa skipper Shakti Gauchan took 5-19 and earned the man of the match award.

In Bhaktapur, Baitadi were bowled out for 86 runs in 37.2 overs with only Prem Chaudhary (19) and Shersing Khatri (17 not out) reaching the double figure mark. Raj Mohamad took 3-23 for Birgunj.

Birgunj achieved the target in 15.1 overs losing four wickets. Opener Kaniska Chaugain scored 36 off 49 balls including four boundaries. Shersing Khatri took two wickets for Baitadi.