Sharada, Bharat win 1,500m races

KATHMANDU: Sharada Bhandari and Bharat Gurung won the 1,500m gold medals on the inaugural day of the first President Cup Running Shield here today.

Sharada of Bijeshwori School won the girls’ section gold with the timing of 6 minutes, 11.9 seconds, while Santoshi Shrestha (6:23.02) of Gita Mata and Sashi Acharya (6:33.06) of Bijeshwori came second and third respectively.

In boys’ section, Deep Jyoti’s Bharat finished first in 5:10.20, ahead of Dinesh Khadka (5:17.09) of Gujeshwori and Rajan Thapa (5:22.07) of APF School.

Gyani Chunar of Bijeshwori won the girls’ 100m race in 15.00 seconds, 0.04 seconds ahead of fellow school mate Binita Thapa. Ramila Tandukar (15.06) of New Diamond finished third. Pemba Tamang of Deep Jyoti claimed the boys’ 100m gold in 12.05 ahead of fellow schoolmate Bikash Thapa Magar (12.07) and Niraj Bista (13.09) of Prithvi.

In shot-put, Rajesh Maharjan of Kamana School won the gold medal with a throw of 11.07 metres, while Mangal School duo Udesh Shahi and James Dangol came second and third respectively. In girls’ section, Binita Thapa (6.53m) of Bijeshwori, Sunita Gurung (6.42m) of Guheshwori and Rakshya Chand (6.40) of New Horizon claimed the top three sports respectively.

In volleyball, Deep Jyoti and SEB School registered wins. Deep Jyoti beat Gajur Mukhi and SEB defeated Tilingtar. New Horizon and Newton earned walk over wins from Bright Future and The Name respectively.

A total of 500 students from 35 schools are taking part in the Kathmandu districtwide event organised by Kathmandu District Sports Development Committee. Earlier, Member Secretary of National Sports Council Jeevan Ram Shrestha inaugurated the tournament.