Sherchan claims President Cup Golf

Kathmandu, August 30:

Rajendra Man Sherchan won the President Cup Golf Tournament here at the Royal Nepal Golf Course today.

Played in a stableford 7/8 handicap format, Sherchan earned 37 points to win the championship, one point better than runner up Sakhre Shah. Kaushi Maya Rai won the ladies’ championship with a score of 33 while Sumitra Dayananda stood second with 32 points.

Likewise, Maj Nima W Lama claimed the senior section title with 35 points while Dil Bahadur Gurung became the winner in the guests’ section with a score of 38 points. Greesh Bindra ended up as a runner up in the guest section. Tashi Ghale was the best gross winner with 34 points.

Other winners include Bal Krishna Gurung (most birdies), Rajendra K Pradhan (longest drive), Binode SJB Rana (closest-to-the-pin), Santosh K Rai (best sportsmanship) and Rabin Rana (President’s special prize).

Royal Nepal Golf Club (RNGC) organised the event to raise funds for the Koshi River flood victims. RNGC president Madhukar Yakthumba handed over a cheque of Rs 200,000 to Minister for Physical Planning and Works Bijay Kumar Gachhadar today. Of the total sum handed over to the Prime Minister’s Natural Disaster Relief Fund, Rs 100,000 was raised by the tournament while Rs 100,000 was donated by RNGC president Yakthumba and his family.