Sherpa wins Carlsberg Golf Series-II title, shares lead

Kathmandu, August 29

Capt Norbu Sherpa won the second edition title of the Carlsberg Golf Series 2015 here at the Gokarna Golf Club today. Sherpa, a three-handicap golfer, accumulated 41 points. Played under stableford 3/4 handicap format, Sherpa scored 21 points on the front nine and added 20 on the latter half. Sherpa, who carded four birdies, also won the most birdies award. Dhurba Thapa, 18-handicap player, came second with 40 points.

Nischaya Rayamajhi won the gross section title with 35 points after Sherpa decided to take the nett category award. Sherpa, who scored 38 gross points, chose the nett section title as per the tournament’s one-player-one-prize rule. Prithivi Malla came second with 34 points.

YD Kwon lifted the women’s section title with the score of 26 points, while Rekha Ghimire finished runner-up with 25 points. Maj Bejoy Moktan scored 34 points to win the senior section award. Purna Bahadur Rai and Phinchok N Lama bagged the closest-to-the-pin and longest drive awards.

A total of 99 players participated in the second edition of the Series. Managing Director of Gorkha Brewery Philip Norley, Director-Marketing Ashish Bista, Sales Director Arun Adhikari, Brand Marketing Manager Rojan Amatya, Trade Marketing Manager Sanjiv Bartola, Sr Brand Executive Salina Sharma, Gokarna Golf Club President Suhrid Ghimire and Captain Joseph Nathan handed over the prizes.

After the second edition, Capt Sherpa and Pemba Sherpa are at the top of the nett section leaderboard with 100 points each, while Dhurba Thapa and Young Man Goo share the third position with 60 apiece. Maj Rayamajhi and Tashi Tsering are joint fifth with 40 points each. In gross section, Capt Sherpa and Tashi Tshering share the lead with 100 points, while Lobsang Tashi (84) and Maj Rayamajhi (60) are third and fourth respectively. Pemba Sherpa and Prithivi Malla are joint fifth with 40 points.