Sherpa wins golf title

Kathmandu, June 18

Tendi Sherpa won the title of the first Ballantine’s Monsoon Challenge here at the Gorkarna Golf Club today.

Sherpa lifted the trophy on count back after he was tied on three-under 69 in the first of the two editions of the tournament.

Sherpa scored 32 nett on the back nine, while Karki earned 34.

Prithivi Malla carded three-over 75 to win the gross section award, whereas Min Bahadur Raut bagged the senior section title with even-par 72.

Likewise, Tashi Tshiring won the most birdies award on count back after he was tied on four birdies with Dr Niranjan Sharma.

Lt Col Dipankar Rajaram lifted the closest-to-the-pin trophy and Tashi Dong bagged the longest drive award.

A total of 64 players took part in the tournament sponsored by Pernod Ricard, distributors of Ballantine’s whisky.

Country Manager of Pernod Ricard Ravinder Saini and President of Gokarna Golf Club Suhrid Ghimire handed over the prizes to the winners of the tournament.

The second and final edition of the event will be played on July 11 which will determine the champion of the Ballantine’s Monsoon Challenge 2016.

The best score of the two rounds will be counted to determine the winner.