Sherpa wins Thalar Cup

Kathmandu, November 24:

Dorji Tsering Sherpa won the Thalar Cup Golf Tournament on count back after he was tied with Vivek SJB Rana in the 0-9 handicap section here at the Royal Nepal Golf Club today.

Played at Stroke-play Full Handicap format, both Sherpa and Rana accumulated 69 net points and Sherpa walked away with the trophy on better back nine. Sherpa also won the most birdies award with five.

Pradeep Kumar Shrestha finished first in the 10-18 handicap section with 66 points, while Ang Norbu Sherpa finished second with 69 points. Tashi Ghale won the best gross and the longest drive awards, while Uma Tiwari claimed the ladies section title ahead of Sandhya Rai. Maj Shahar Singh Limbu won the super senior section beating Himalaya SJB Rana.

Other winners of the event included Bejoy Moktan (18th position), Prajwalla SJB Rana (closest to the pin at Hole No 5), Neeraj SJB Rana (closest to the pin at Hole No 13) and Rita Thapa (best sportsmanship).