Nepal | July 19, 2019

Shrestha, Khadka win PoY awards

Himalayan News Service

Jhapa, February 10

Footballer Nawayug Shrestha and judoka Devika Khadka won the Player of the Year awards at the Jhapa Sports Award here on Saturday.

The national team member Shrestha, who hails from Ilam, was nominated in the men’s section along with fellow footballers from Jhapa Bishal Rai ‘B’ and Ananta Tamang. Judoka Khadka was declared the winner in women’s section ahead of two other nominees — karateka Aster Rai and footballer Anjila Subba.

Athlete Prakash Danuwar was named the Youth Player of the Year. Footballer Samjhana Lawati and athlete Sabita Karki were the other two nominees in the category.

Likewise, cricket coach Biru Shrestha was named the best Coach of the Year ahead of Ganga Khadka (judo) and Damber Limbu (boxing).

Jhapa-XI Football Club defender Devendra Tamang won the People’s Choice award, while volleyball coach of Taplejung Tej Pratap Patangwa Subba was honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

The men’s and women’s section winners Shrestha and Khadka received motorcycle and scooty respectively, while Youth, Coach and People’s Choice Award winners received Rs 25,000 each. The Lifetime Achievement Award winner Subba received Rs 35,000.

The cash prizes were sponsored by vice-president of All Nepal Football Association Pankaj Bikram Nembang in memory of his brother Ashish Bikram Nembang, while Jhapa FC President Jal Kumar Gurung sponsored the two-wheelers. Players, coaches and officials from Mechi Zone were included in the race of the Award which was organised by Jhapa Coordination Committee of Nepal Sports Journalists Forum.

A version of this article appears in print on February 11, 2019 of The Himalayan Times.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories: