Shrestha, Bajracharya advance to final

KATHMANDU: Nepal Police Club’s Shyantu Shrestha and Nepal APF Club’s Purushottam Bajracharya advanced to the men’s singles category final of the ninth Purna Man Bajracharya Memorial National Open Table Tennis Tournament here on Friday.

In the semi-final matches, Shrestha recorded a 11-5, 11-9, 11-7, 12-10 win against Amar Lal Malla of APF, while Bajracharya defeated Nepal Police Club’s Deep Saun 11-9, 9-11, 11-8, 9-11, 11-4, 5-11, 11-5. However, Shyantu Shrestha, who played for Prime College, won singles title in college category.

Shrestha beat Ritiz Joshi of Liverpool International College 11-6, 11-4, 11-8. Mani Kumar Lama of Times and Ayush Maharjan of CCRC were joint third. Deepak Nepali of Tri Media won the men’s singles title of the media section with a 11-8, 11-3, 11-4 win against Manohar Thapa of Nepal Television. NTV’s Madan Acharya and Hamrokhelkud’s Dipesh Timalsina were joint third.