Magar claims title

NAWALPARASI: Som Bahadur Magar of Tanahu won the first National Kayak (K-1) Marathon held in Narayani River on Wednesday. Magar took one hour, three minutes and 26 seconds to complete the 16km distance to win the competition. The race began from Jugedi of Chitwan district and ended at Gaidakot of Nawalparasi. Khem Bahadur Thapa of Tanahu claimed second position in one hour, three minutes and 33 seconds, while Rajendra Gurung of Chitwan finished third with the timing of one hour, four minutes and nine seconds. The top three players received Rs 15,000, Rs 12,000 and Rs 8,000 respectively. A total of 27 kayaks took part in the competition organised by Nawalparasi District Rafting and Canoeing Association.