Somesh, Sany lead Biratnagar to victory

Lalitpur, November 1:

Somesh Yadav and Sany Pun scored half centuries as Region No 1 (Biratnagar) beat Region No 6 (Baitadi) by 67 runs in the Pepsi Under-15 National Cricket Tournament here today.

Batting first, Biratnagar accumulated 230/2 in 40 overs before packing Baitadi for 163 runs. Biratnagar openers Pashupati Mandal and Somesh Yadav put on 79 runs before Pashupati fell in the 15th over hitting nine boundaries in his 45-ball 48.

Somesh then added further 113 runs for the second wicket with Sany Pun, who remained unbeaten on 64 off 58 balls hitting four boundaries and five sixes. Somesh fell in the 35th over, scoring 68 off 123 balls including four fours. Anish Agrawal, who shared an unbroken third wicket stand of 38 with Sany, was not out on 19 off 17 balls.

In reply, Baitadi lost first two wickets for just eight runs. Gokul Joshi and Pradeep Airee gave some hopes with a third-wicket stand of 101 runs, but the chase was literally over when the pair fell in the space of four balls.

Pradeep top-scored with 45 off 59 balls hitting eight fours, while Gokul departed scoring 40 off 69 balls including eight boundaries. Sameer Nagarkoti and Bhuwan Karki contributed 13 runs each.

For Biratnagar, Aashish Singh and Nirjal Chhetri took three wickets each, while Deepak Sharma claimed two. Purendra Bikram Lakhe, member of the National Sports Council, gave away the man of the match award to Sany Pun of Biratnagar. On Friday, Biratnagar will take on Region No 3 (Kathmandu) at the same venue.