Stricker-Kelly team win

NAPLES: Steve Stricker fired an eagle on the 17th hole as he and fellow American Jerry Kelly combined for a 26-under 190 to win the $3 million Shark Shootout by one stroke.

The pair shot a final day 13-under 59 with the help of Stricker’s eagle putt on the par-five 17. He also hit the second shot on the hole at the Tiburon golf course.

Stricker and Kelly earned $750,000 in prize money to share between them. They clinched the win when Kenny Perry and JB Holmes failed to birdie the 18th hole.

Heading into Sunday’s play Kelly and Stricker had a one-shot lead. This was the second win in this event for Kelly who paired with Rod Pampling to take the 2006 title.

Stricker won for the first time. The final round was played in a better-ball scramble format. The pairing played the best shot from each player until the hole was completed.

Dubbed the Shark Shootout it was begun by Aussie

Greg Norman 21 years ago. Five of the dozen teams broke 60 on the par-72 course. Tim Clark, who posted a hole-in-one, and Chad Campbell shot a 15-under 57 that was just two strokes shy of the tournament’s scramble record.

The early clubhouse lead went to Clark and Campbell at 25-under 191. Justin Leonard and Scott Verplank joined them with a 59, while Perry and Holmes also shot a 59 for a three-way tie for second place.