Swayambhu Club win ‘C’ Division League

Lalitpur, August 4:

Swayambhu Club of Kathmandu defeated Koilapani Pole Star Club of Nawalparasi 3-1 in the final of the Martyrs’ Memorial ‘C’ Division League here today.

Swayambhu took an early lead through Nawaraj Ghale in the 10th minute, while Sujan Maharjan doubled lead in the 34th minute. Dal Bahadur Pun reduced the margin in the 63rd minute, but Ghale sealed the victory in the 77th minute.

The winners earned Rs 100,000 while the runner-up received Rs 50,000. The losing semi-finalists Kumari Youth Club and Naxal Yuva Mandal got Rs 25,000 each.

Both Swayambhu and Koilapani Pole Star have already qualified for the ‘B’ Division League. Out of the total 18 clubs, four teams — King Come Club, Bhar City Club, Samakhushi Club and Friends Club — were relegated. Sita Ram Maskey, vice president of National Sports Council, gave away prizes.

All Nepal Football Association (ANFA) President Ganesh Thapa, vice president and spokesperson Lalit Krishna Shrestha, general secretary Narendra Shrestha, treasurer Birat Jung Shahi and other officials were also present on the occasion.