TAC, APF claim volleyball trophies

Pokhara: Tribhuvan Army Club and Nepal APF Club won the titles of the 21st National Women and 31st Men Volleyball Tournament under the NSC Championship here today.

In the men’s category final, TAC saw off APF in straight sets of 3-0. TAC took the first set 25-12 and dominated the second one 25-13 before winning the third set by the same margin.

Western Region defeated Nepal Police Club 3-2 in a five-set battle to finish third. Western claimed the first set 25-22 before NPC claimed the second and third 25-20 and 25-21 respectively. However, Western took the fourth 25-16 before winning the deciding one by 18-16.

In the women’s final, APF thrashed Central Region 25-18, 25-14, 25-10 to win the championship. Similarly, NPC beat Western 25-15, 25-21, 25-21 to finish third. The top three teams in both the categories earned Rs 50,000, Rs 30,000 and Rs 20,000 respectively. TAC’s Man Bahadur Shrestha and APF’s Saraswoti Chaudhary were named the best players.