TAC clinch team championship

Lalitpur, December 22

Tribhuvan Army Club won the team championship of the second Bir Ganeshman Singh Memorial National Open Kick Boxing Tournament here today.

TAC finished first with a total of 11 medals — five gold, four silver and two bronze. Another departmental side, Nepal APF Club came second with three gold, one silver and three bronze medals, while So-Kyokushin were third with one each gold and bronze and two silver medals. Top three teams received Rs 50,000, Rs 25,000 and Rs 12,500 respectively.

Sanjay Rai of APF and Lumanti Shrestha of TAC were declared the best players of the tournament organised by Lalitpur Kick Boxing Association. They earned Rs 15,000 each. Likewise, Sanjib Maharjan of APF was named the emerging player and Tikathali won the fair play award.

In men’s section, Sanjay Rai won gold in 50kg weight category defeating NBC’s Yanub Thulung Rai, while his APF teammate Suman Nepali beat TAC’s Mahesh Bhujel in 55kg final. Yomesh Tamang of Shankhamul won the 60kg section gold beating TAC’s Rajesh Chaudhary. Also, Padam Rai of TAC defeated Sanjib Maharjan of APF in 65kg section final, while Pradeep Tamang of So-Kyokushin beat Birendra Singh of APF in 70kg final. Likewise, Chitra Singh Thakuri beat Kiran Singh Saud in all-TAC final to win open category gold medal.

In women’s section, Elina Chaudhary of TAC won the 50kg section gold medal beating Elisha Chaudhary of APF, while Angila Shrestha of APF defeated Samita Ra of Lalitpur in 55kg final. Lumanti Shrestha of TAC finished first in 60kg section beating Shivani Shrestha of So-Kyokushin, whereas Bindu Pun of TAC beat her teammate Manju BK in the open category final.

The winners of all weight categories received Rs 20,000 each, while the runners-up earned Rs 10,000 apiece. Two third-place players got Rs 5,000 each. Former deputy Prime Minister Prakash Man Singh, former State Minister for Finance Uday Shumsher Rana and former Treasurer of National Sports Council and tournament coordinator Min Krishna Maharjan handed over the prizes to the winners.