Tamang, Pokharel win

KATHMANDU: Gopal Tamang of Bansbari HS School and Anjani Pokharel of Prolific HS School won the 5km races under the second Maharshi Inter-school Marathon Championship here on Saturday.

Tamang won boys’ category title in 16 minutes and 30 seconds, while Nishan Khadka of Prolific (16:32) and Maharshi’s Bibash Ghale (16:35) came second and third respectively.

In girls’ section, Pokharel clocked 21 minutes and 38 seconds to finish ahead of Gurukul School’s Priti Tamang (22:19) and Sonu Gurung (22:57).

Top three players got Rs 5,000, Rs 3,000 and Rs 2,000 respectively. A total of 215 students took part in the competition organised by Maharshi School. — HNS