Nepal | May 23, 2019

Team to go to Brunei


Himalayan News Service

KATHMANDU: A 16-member Nepali team is on Thursday leaving for Brunei to participate in the Asia Rugby Women’s Sevens Trophy slated for October 20-21.

Alisa Thapa is the team captain, while Srijana Rai is her deputy. Panchamaya Shrestha, Sunita Tamang, Sabina Maharjan, Sabitri Purja, Sabita Luitel, Sujina Gurung, Sonika Tamang, Nani Tamang, Amrita Kirat Rai and Manisha Thapa Magar are the other players in the squad.

Team manager Binod Tamang, coach Radhika Hettiyachi and physio Binu Khadka will also accompany the players to Brunei.

A total of 10 teams — Nepal, India, Pakistan, Indonesia, the Philippines, Guam, Malaysia, Laos, Uzbekistan and Brunei — are competing in the tournament. Nepal will play against India and Pakistan on October 20.

Nepal Rugby Association President Tanka Lal Ghising bade farewell to the team on Sunday.

A version of this article appears in print on October 15, 2018 of The Himalayan Times.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories: