Tennis tourney

LALITPUR: Samrakchyan Bhusan Bajracharya and Era Rawat won the U-16 singles titles of the third Junior Open Tennis Tournament here on Saturday.

Bajracharya edged past Pranav Khanal 6-3, 7-6 in boys’ section, while Rawat beat Ani Mathema 6-3, 6-3 in the last match of the round-robin league in girls’ singles category.

In U-12 boys’ singles final, Adit Subedi registered a 4-6, 6-3, 6-3 win over Aditya Subedi, while Rayena Shah thumped Shristha Rai 6-1, 6-2 to win girls’ section title.

In U-14 girls’ singles final, Prerana Koirala routed Lumu Lama 6-0, 6-0, whereas Aaditya Subedi beat Aarav Samrat Hada 6-2, 6-3 to win the U-10 boys’ singles title.

A total of 175 players competed in the five-day tournament organised by the parents of junior players.