Thankful CAN forms four committees

Kathmandu, October 20

The meeting of Cricket Association of Nepal today thanked all the stakeholders for their roles and support in the readmission of CAN Membership and formed four committees for its smooth functioning.

“The meeting decided to thank all stakeholders including the government, National Sports Council and International Cricket Council for helping them in lifting the suspension of CAN,” said Secretary Ashok Nath Pyakurel. The ICC had last week readmitted CAN as the Associated Member on conditional basis following the completion of the elective general assembly that elected a 17-member team led by Chatur Bahadur Chand.

The meeting nominated convenor of four committees — Technical Committee (Sanjay Raj Singh), Tournament Committee (Prashant Bikram Malla), Finance Committee (Roshan Kumar Singh) and Media Committee (Ashok Nath Pyakurel).

According to Pyakurel, the members in the committees would be added on due course. “The meeting has instructed the three committees — Technical, Tournament and Finance — to prepare the future plans and programmes,” said Pyakurel.

Secretary Pyakurel said the meeting decided to request the NSC to hand over the ownership of grounds. “In the absence of CAN, the NSC had taken over the control of the grounds and we have decided to send a letter to the governing body requesting the transfer of ownership,” he added.

The board meeting also took account of the resignation of national team skipper Paras Khadka and decided to find the facts related to the development.

“As we have not received any letter regarding his resignation from the post of captain, we have decided to collect facts and move ahead,” he said. “He has not sent any official document or informed any one of us. We had a general discussion about the issue which we came to know through media. The meeting reached a conclusion to move ahead only after knowing the details,” he added.