Three bowlers, Laxman dropped

New Delhi, August 13:

Indian selectors dropped versatile batsman VVS Laxman and three bowling stars — Anil Kumble, Laxmipathi Balaji and Zaheer Khan — as they announced the team for an upcoming limited overs series in Zimbabwe. However, all four players were included in the team for two Test matches to be played next month after the triangular series, said SK Nair, secretary of the BCCI. Star batsman Sachin Tendulkar, recovering from an elbow injury, had been included in the Test team. The limited overs series, that also includes New Zealand, begins on August 24. Pacer Ajit Agarkar and spinner Murali Kartik were recalled to the one-day squad. Other new inclusions are Rudra Pratap Singh, Suresh Raina and Venugopal Rao.