Upreti ousts Dulal

KASHIBHANJYANG: Ashok Upreti won the second Thuraya Mountain Bike Championship, organised jointly by Trekking Agent Association of Nepal and Nepal Mountain Bike Association on the occasion of World Environment Day here at Kashi Bhanjyang, Kavre, on Sunday. , The local hero finished the 17-km race in 45 mins 43secs, beating defending champion Suresh Kumar Dulal (46.48) and Dipendra Bajracharya (47.32). Hem Raj Thapa won the junior section ahead of Ajay Prasad Chhetry, while Briton Crisi Wellington bagged the women’s section title and Nirjala Tamrakar came first among Nepali women riders. Ramesh Khadka won the Masters (Above 40) category title. In all, 73 Nepali and six foreigners took part in the event. — HNS

Gyan Niketan win

KATHMANDU: Gyan Niketan beat Elite’s Co Ed 33-6 in the second-day match at the fourth Baba Basketball Tournament, which has been organised by Baba Boarding School. In other senior boys’ section matches, Daffodil beat South Point 40-11; Wilson routed EPS 52-20; Ideal Model outplayed Shrine Academy 41-22; and New Serine Academy edged out Little Angels’ School 41-38. In junior boys’ category, Wilson beat Excelsior 22-15; LRI overwhelmed Shining Star 25-7; Baba thrashed Daffodil 42-3; and RIBS outplayed Suvatara 40-11. — HNS

HIMS basketball

KATHMANDU: Himalaya International Model School (HIMS) is organising the HIMS Inter-School Basketball Tournament from June 9-18, at the school court in Narayantar, Jorpati. In all, 15 teams — Gyanodaya, RIBS, TIA, HIMS, Sambotta, Galaxy, LRI, Wilson, Intensive Academy, Namgyal, St Xavier’s, Gyan Niketan, Manju Ghoksha, Sridiwa, and Shuvatara — are taking part in the 10-day tournament. Founder director of HIMS Tsewang Niema Lama is scheduled inaugurate the event. — HNS

Friends to face BUC

KATHMANDU: Friends Club will take on Boys Union Club in the inaugural match of the upcoming Birthday Cup football tournament, to be organised by ANFA to mark the 59th birthday of King Gyanendra. In all, 18 clubs — 15 ‘A’ division clubs of Kathmandu and three Indian clubs — will take part in the event, which starts on June 7. In the draw releasedtoday, City Young FC of Dehra Dun and West Sikkim FA are directly into the quarters, while United Kurseong will have to play two matches to reach the last eight. — HNS

Australia win title

KUALA LUMPUR: Craig Victory scored a golden goal 11 minutes into extra-time to give Australia a thrilling 4-3 triumph over South Korea in the final of the 14th Sultan Azlan Shah Cup. The Olympic champions, who fought back from 3-1 down to claim their second successive title. Pakistan defeated New Zealand 4-2 to secure third place. Earlier, India gained a measure of revenge against Malaysia when they beat the hosts 2-1 in extra-time to finish fifth. — AFP