Time Out

Ansari nominated

KATHMANDU: Youth and Sports Minister Ganesh Nepali on Tuesday nominated Samim Miya Ansari ‘Bablu’ as the member of the National Sports Council (NSC). Ansari, a resident of Kathmandu, is associated with Nepal Kyokushin Budodai Kan Karate Association, said the NSC in a release. Ansari became the first member to be nominated from sports associations. The ministry has the right to nominate nine members from national associations and regions. Meanwhile, Laxman Shrestha, a member of Jeevan Ram Shrestha-led NSC board, has finally tendered his resignation on Tuesday. — HNS

Six-A-Side football

KATHMANDU: The third Sujan Memorial Six-A-Side Football Tournament is all set to kick off here from Wednesday. In all, 23 teams are vying for the championship, said the organisers Samaj Kalyan Khelkud Kendra on Tuesday. Birendra Library will take on Church Boys ‘White’ in the inaugural match. Among the other participating teams are RCT, Machhindra, Nawa Jyoti Sakchhum, Nawajyoti Yuva, Guheswori, Panga Youth, Koteshwor Youth, Casino at Service, Gurukul, Church Boys ‘Red’, SWSC Academy, Red Devils, Siddhartha Banasthali, Creative Youth, ABC Boys, Balambu Sports, Bull Boys, F United and Kumari Yuva Club. — HNS

Prez Cup cancelled

KHOTANG: The President Cup Running Shield sports tournament in Khotang has been cancelled following protests from the Unified CPN-Maoists on Tuesday. The Maoists demanded the organisers to stop the tournament which is played under the name of president. “We completed all the preparations but Maoists didn’t allow us to go ahead with it,” said Khotang District Sports Development Committee President Sunman Khadka. The sports ministry gave Rs 100,000 to every district across the country to organise the tournaments in the fiscal year. — HNS

Pok reach semi-finals

POKHARA: Parony Pok of France reached the women’s singles semi-finals of the second Hopes Tennis tournament on Tuesday. Pok beat Milan Thapa 6-0, 6-0. The other women’s matches were cancelled due to rain. Raj Kumar Gurung and Bhim Parajuli reached the second round winning their respective matches. Gurung overcame Manoj Bijukche 6-2, 6-2 and Parajuli beat Bishnu Gurung 6-1, 6-4. In other matches, Sudarshan Sigdel saw off Roma Aakash Gurung 6-0, 6-2, Shakti Sharma beat Raju Gurung 6-3, 6-3, Akhilesh Palikhe outplayed Deepak Pariyar 6-1, 6-4 and Dharam Singh Lamichhane edged past Bishesh Thapa 6-0, 6-1 to reach the second round. — HNS