Johnson grabs lead

Charlotte: Zach Johnson fired a four-under 68 on Saturday to grab a two-stroke lead going into the final round at the PGA tour’s $6.4 million Quail Hollow Championship. The former Masters champion Johnson moved to 11-under 205 after 54 holes for a two-shot lead over a group that includes Tiger Woods. Woods made two late bogeys en route to a two-under 70. Woods was tied at 207 with fellow Americans Lucas Glover (68) and George McNeill (70). Two-time US Open champion Retief Goosen (72) and Zimbabwe’s Brendon de Jonge (67) were in a quartet on 208 along with Americans Sean O’Hair (67) and Bubba Watson (72). — AFP

Agger signs contract

LIVERPOOL: Liverpool defender Daniel Agger has ended the uncertainty surrounding his future at Anfield by agreeing a four-year extension to his current contract. The 24-year old Dane joined the Reds from Brondby in 2006 and his contract was due expire at the end of this season. He will now remain on Merseyside until 2014. Agger has endured a frustrating season as injuries and the impressive form of Martin Skrtel have kept him out of the team for long periods, prompting him to underline his “need to play regularly” and placing doubt over his Anfield future. — AFP

Bayern search coach

MUNICH: In the hunt to replace sacked Bayern Munich coach Jurgen Klinsmann, club chairman Karl-Heinz Rummenigge insisted experience and personality would be key attributes for potential candidates. Klinsmann was sacked last Monday after 10 months in charge following a string of poor results with Jupp Heynckes appointed as caretaker for the rest of the season. Dutch coaches Louis van Gaal, Frank Rijkaard and Martin Jol as well as German Football Federation (DFB) director of football Matthias Sammer have all been linked to the vacant job. — AFP

Langat wins

DUESSELDORF: Kenya’s David Langat won the Duesseldorf marathon here on Sunday in a time of 2hr, 10min, 46sec ahead of compatriot Wilfred Kigen and Germany’s Andre Pollmaecher. Kigen came home second in 2:11:30 with Pollmaecher third in 2:13:09. Germany’s Susanne Hahn won the women’s race in 2:29:26. — AFP