Time out

C Div qualifier

KATHMANDU: Srijanshil Youth Club edged past Kalika Mahabir Club 3-2 to enter the quarter-finals from Group A at the C Division League qualifying football match here on Sunday. Kurfew Rasaili, Sital Bohara and Santosh Budhatholi scored for Srijanshil while Sherpa Sunuwar and Roshan Bhandari replied for Mahabir. Likewise, Badrinath Youth Club and Jhamsikhel Youth Club also made it to the Group B quarter-finals. Badrinath defeated Panchdhara Football Club 4-1 with two goals apiece from Robin Lama and Subhash Nagarkoti. Aakash Magar converted for Panchdhara. Jhamsikhel crushed Mangal Youth Club 5-0 with Lava Thapa scoring twice and Sujan Thapa, Sohan Hamal and Saroj Thapa adding one goal each. — HNS

Baliram departs

KATHMANDU: Athlete Baliram Chaudhary on Sunday left for Poland to take part in the 12th IAAF World Junior Championship. Chaudhary is accompanied to Poland by his coach Amiri Yadav, said the Nepal Amateur Athletics Association in a release here on Sunday. The championship is scheduled for July 8-13. — HNS

Vanasthali win

KATHMANDU: Siddhartha Vanasthali of Kathmandu defeated Bidur Boarding School of Jhapa 4-2 in the opening day match of the Inter-Secondary School National Football Tournament on Sunday. Buddha Lama scored a brace and Santosh Gurung and Pradeep Magar added one goal each for Vanasthali while Akash Basnet and Bimarsha Shrestha replied for Bidur. In the second game, Sharad Galani struck a hat-trick as Kalika Secondary School of Rupandehi beat Tri Padma School of Lalitpur 3-0. In all, 12 schools from five Development Regions are taking part in the tournament organized by Nepal Football Association. — HNS