Morris clinches KEGG Cup

KATHMANDU: Peter Morris won the KEGG Cup organised by Kathmandu Eager Golfers’ Group here at the Le Meridien Gokarna Forest Golf Resort and Spa on Saturday. Morris won the monthly event on count back after he was tied at 33 points with Maj B Moktan. Subodh Thapa was third with 32 points. MD Mool won the closest to the pin award, while PK Shrestha claimed the most birdies trophy. Lady golfer Eu Hazur Thapa gave away the prizes, which were sponsored by John Players. — HNS

Baluwatar win

KATHMANDU: Baluwatar Cricket Club beat Greenland Children Academy (GCA) by six wickets in the final of the Wai Wai Women’s Regional T20 Open League Cricket Tournament. Batting first, GCA were bowled out for 43 runs in 13.3 overs and Baluwatar overcame the target losing four wickets in 8.4 overs. Woman of the match Shraddha Aryal scored unbeaten 19 and Sarita Magar made 11 for Baluwatar. Samikshya Aryal, who was later named the best bowler, and Radhika Thapa took two wickets each for Baluwatar. GCA’s Neema Tamang was named the best batswoman, while her teammate Geeta Chudal took away the Woman of the Series award. Earlier in the fourth GCA Inter-school Boys’ Cricket Tournament, Rajan Memorial beat Tri-Jyoti by eight wickets in final. Batting first, Tri-Jyoti were bowled out for 82 in 17.5 overs, while Rajan Memorial overcame the target losing two wickets in 17 overs. Nupur Pandey of Suryodaya was named the man of the series, while Navin Nepal and Keshav Saud of Rajan Memorial won the best bowler and batsman’s awards respectively. Gyankunja’s Bikash Shrestha was named the best wicketkeeper, while Ujjwol Sishu Niketan won the fair play award. — HNS

Wilson in final

KATHMANDU: Hosts Wilson Academy and Ullens School advanced to the senior boys’ section final of the eighth Wilson Hoops 2008 Basketball Tournament on Saturday. Wilson edged out KISC 75-68 riding on 33 points from Anil Pandey. Ullens overcame Unique 77-63 in the other semi-final with Madan netting 15 points for Ullens. — HNS