Shuttlers India-bound

KATHMANDU: The eight-member badminton team left for India to participate in the Thomos Cup Badminton Championship to be held in Jaypur from February 15-19. Shuttlers Balram Thapa, Pashupati Paneru, Ram Singh Chaudhary, Indra Mahato and Bishal Pradhan are accompanied by Pratap Adhikari (manager), Meghraj Kathayat (coach) and Lava Bhakta Shrestha (umpire). Each of the participating teams will play three singles and two doubles matches. The winning team of the Asian qualifiers take part in the Thomos Cup to be held in Japan. — HNS

Maiyo wins in Delhi

NEW DELHI: Simon Maiyo led Ken-ya’s domination in the men’s New Delhi marathon, while Enantesh Tadesse of Ethiopia won the women’s title. Maiyo finished in just two hours and 17 minutes, edging out compatriots Mark Yatich (2:17:02) and Francis Kamau (2:17:03). Tadesse clocked 2:44:29, beating Tanzania’s Monika Samila (2:44:33) and Ethiopia’s Kenneni Chala (2:44:37). — AP