Kathmandu win

KATHMANDU: Kathmandu Metropolitan City and Lalitpur Sub-Metropolitan City made winning starts at the first Inter-Municipality Men’s Volleyball Tournament here on Monday. Kathmandu saw off Dhulikhel Municipality 25-9, 25-13, 25-11 and Lalitpur defeated Madhyapur Thimi Municipality 25-23, 25-16, 25-21. In the other match of the day, Panauti Municipality dispatched Kamalamai Municipality 25-20, 25-13, 25-18. In all, 12 teams are participating in the tournament organised by Nepal Volleyball Association. Kathmandu Metropolitan City is the chief sponsor and Lalitpur the co-sponsor. — HNS

Ratna Rajya triumph

KATHMANDU: Ratna Rajya Campus and Tribhuvan University (TU) registered wins in the third Valleywide Inter-Campus Professors Volleyball Tournament on Monday. Ratna Rajya eased to a comfortable 25-8, 25-8 victory over Jana Prasasan Campus while TU laboured to a 25-15, 16-25, 25-19 win over Patan Campus. — HNS