U-16 team selected

Lalitpur, October 10:

The 20-member Nepali Under-16 football team have been selected on Wednesday for the AFC Youth Championship scheduled to begin from October 17 in Tehran.

All Nepal Football Association (ANFA) selected the final 20 from the 28 players who were undergoing closed camp training. Kishor KC is the coach and Siddhi Byanjankar the assistant coach.

Sanjeev Mishra has been given the responsibility of managing the team that leaves for Tehran on Sunday.

The team includes Bishal Shrestha, Kovit Karki, Rohit Chand, Ravi Thapa, Niraj Magar, Sabindra Shrestha, Ram Krishna GC, Shiva Shrestha, Ganesh Khadka, Bishal Rai, Sujal Shrestha, Roshan Lamichhane, Jagajit Shrestha, Nirajan Malla, Sushil KC, Badal Ghising, Suman Khadka, Nabin Maharjan, Naresh Pokharel and Dinesh Thapa Magar.

Nepal is pitted in Group B against Iran, Jordan, Kuwait, Bahrain and Afghanistan. Nepal will open its campaign against Bahrain on October 17 before taking on Jordan (October 20), Afghanistan (October 22), Kuwait (October 25) and hosts Iran (October 28).