Umpiring Diploma Course begins

Kathmandu, September 30:

Cricket Australia-funded Umpiring Diploma Course, under the auspices of the Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN), began here today.

Organised for the first time outside the non-Test playing nation, 16 senior Nepali cricket umpires will benefit from the course which is also recognised by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB).

The Cricket Australia has taken it as a trial so as to conduct the course in other non-Test playing nations in future, said the International Development Program Manager of Cricket Australia Ross Turner, who is also the Programme Coordinator.

Director of Education and Development of International Institute of Cricket Umpiring and Scoring (IICUS) Denis Burns and Umpire Development Manager of New South Wales Cricket Umpires and Scorers Association Darren Goodger will conduct the course. “The course mainly focuses on the laws of the game and cricket management aspects,” said Burns.

The diploma course is widely recognised in the world cricket and is considered much higher than the ACC accredited Level-II umpiring course. This will be the first time any Nepali umpire taking part in such a high-level umpiring course.

Among the umpires to participate in the diploma course are Buddhi Bahadur Pradhan, Vinay Kumar Jha, Satyajit Sarkar, Sameer Khan, Manohar Adhikari, Himal Raj Giri, Ram Kailash Yadav, Shailendra Raj Nepal, Adhip Pradhan, Durga Nath Subedi, Sanjay Gurung, Sirish Kumar Upadhayay, Rajendra Chand, Manmohan Lamsal, Hira Lal Raut and Raman Shiwakoti.

Earlier, Australian Ambassador to Nepal, Graeme Lade inaugurated the programme. CAN president Binay Raj Pandey among others were present on the occasion. The course will conclude on October 6.