Tourism boost

MAHOTTARI: Minister for Tourism and Civil Aviation Sarat Singh Bhandari on Monday said the government is committed to expand the infrastructure for the development of tourism as this sector is a better source for strengthening the country’s economy. Talking to media persons in Jaleshwor, he said physical infrastructure development of different sites in the district has already begun. He said the government was mindful of working as per the people’s aspirations and stressed on the need for unity among the parties for timely constitution.

Home stay facility

BHAKTAPUR: Nagarkot-Naldum Tourism Entrepreneurs’ Committee is going to begin home stay facility for tourism in Nagarkot of Bhaktapur district aimed at Nepal Tourism Year 2011. Committee secretary Dipak Lamichhane said they are planning to launch the service enable of bringing in over 2,000 tourists each day in Nagarkot. At present, there are 36 hotels each with of 1,000 beds. Under home stay facility, locals should serve food items like rice, pulse, bread, Dhindo and Gundruk. Two well-facilitated bedrooms, bathroom, toilet and hot water will be managed in 50 separate houses in the villages for home stay service. The committee has decided to provide loan to operate the home stay service which will begin after a month.

Dharan street fest

INARUWA: With ‘Lets Visit Dharan’ as the main theme, the eighth Dharan street festival is slated from April 11. It will run till April 13. The objective of the festival, organised by the Hotel Association of Dharan, is to promote local tourism by conserving heritage sites having physical and tourist value. Around 120 stalls of various items including ethnic food will be kept on display beside the street along local campus road and the old hospital in Dharan-4, according to the organisers. Similarly, various sports competitions will also be organised during the festival period. Bicycle race, waiter race, cake eating and milk drinking competitions are among the events scheduled, said chairman of the festival organising committee Pramesh Shrestha.