Nepal | July 16, 2020

First phase of petroleum exploration in Dailekh district completed

Himalayan News Service
Share Now:

Kathmandu, March 10

The first phase of petroleum exploration in Dailekh has been completed.

Chinese teams that had been carrying out exploration works in the district have returned after accomplishing first phase of exploration, as per Department of Mines and Geology (DoMG).

Four Chinese teams that also comprised representatives from DoMG had started the exploration works in different areas of the district in November.

Ganesh Tripathi, geologist at DoGM, informed that four Chinese teams — each dealing with survey works, geological works, import of necessary equipment for the exploration, and seismic survey, respectively — have returned to China after accomplishing their responsibilities.

The Chinese teams had carried out exploration works primarily across Dullu Municipality, Bhairabi Rural Municipality, Mahabu Municipality and Narayan Municipality of the district.

Similarly, exploration works were carried out in Chamunda Bindrasaini Municipality, Dungeswor Rural Municipality, Naumule Rural Municipality and Bhagawati Rural Municipality in the district, as per DoMG.

The survey has been initiated across 10 seismic lines in the district covering an area of almost 200 kilometres and in the core area underneath the Earth’s crust where petroleum storage is available, as per DoGM.

As per Tripathi, a report of the petroleum exploration works carried out in Dailekh will be prepared soon and decisions will made regarding further exploration works.

Earlier, the government had awarded a Chinese team the contract to carry out exploration of petroleum products in Dailekh and Palpa. The Chinese team, after the initial drilling phase, is preparing to determine the types and amount of petroleum products located in the respective areas and possibilities of commercial exploration of the commodities.

In April last year, a Chinese team from China Geological Survey had observed and conducted a feasibility study of petroleum exploration in Surkhet, Dailekh and Palpa districts and also in Chatara-Barahachhetra areas of Sunsari district.

A version of this article appears in print on March 11, 2020 of The Himalayan Times.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories:

More from The Himalayan Times:

Nepali photo-journalists condemn unprofessional behaviour of media houses during crisis

KATHMANDU: Photo Journalist Club (PJC) and National Forum of Photo Journalists (NFPJ) have condemned the attitude of media houses failing to provide professional security to working photo-journalists amid the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. On Wednesday, PJC and NFPJ jointly issued a press release sta Read More...


Twitter silences some verified accounts after wave of hacks

SAN FRANCISCO - Multiple high-profile Twitter accounts were hijacked on Wednesday, with some of the platform's top voices - including U.S. presidential candidate Joe Biden, reality TV star Kim Kardashian, former U.S. President Barack Obama and billionaire Elon Musk, among many others - used Read More...

2.36 million Nepalis scared of losing home or land

KATHMANDU, JULY 15 Around 2.36 million adult Nepalis expect to be forced out of their homes against their will in the next five years, a ground-breaking study has shown. Nepal’s scorecard, however, is relatively better than the global average, in which about one in five adults (19 per cent) Read More...

High-profile twitter accounts hacked in Bitcoin scam

KATHMANDU: In an episode of a very conspicuous security breach on a social media site, a wave of high-profile Twitter account hacks to offer fake Bitcoin deals sent alerts flying in the wee hours Thursday. The official Twitter accounts of billionaires Bill Gates, Elon Musk and Jeff Bezos were h Read More...

Armed Police Force Senior Superintendent of Police held on rape charge

POKHARA, JULY 15 Police today arrested an Armed Police Force Senior Superintendent of Police on the charge of raping a woman in Kaski. Acting on the complaint of the victim, a police team led by Superintendent of Police Jevan Kumar Shrestha of Kaski District Police Office arrested SSP Rajendra Read More...

Twitter Hack Update: Coordinated social engineering attack, says Twitter

KATHMANDU: Multiple high profile Twitter accounts were hacked in the wee hours of Thursday morning, soliciting Bitcoin donations. Accounts of millionaires, US politicians, musicians and corporations were compromised in the crypto currency scam. Initially, Twitter prevented at least some verifi Read More...

PM Oli's Ayodhya claim ends possibility of talks with India: Nepali Congress VP

KATHMANDU: Nepali Congress Vice-president Bimalendra Nidhi has termed Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli’s claim that Thori village in Parsa is the real Ayodhya and the birthplace of Lord Ram baseless, irrelevant and objectionable. Nidhi said both Hindus and non-Hindus accepted from time immemorial t Read More...

DoA to undertake research on Lord Ram’s birthplace

KATHMANDU, JULY 15 The Department of Archaeology has said it would begin archaeological studies on the possibility of Lord Ram’s birth place being in Nepal, following Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli’s recent statement that the Hindu god was born in the Himalayan country. Damodar Gautam, Direc Read More...