FNCCI felicitates past presidents

KATHMANDU: The Federation of Nepalese Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FNCCI) on Monday felicitated all its past presidents, including Binod Chaudhary, president of Chaudhary Group (CG), for their contribution to FNCCI.

Chaudhary, who is also a former FNCCI president, had left FNCCI and formed the Confederation of Nepalese Industry two decades ago, after losing out to Padma Jyoti in the presidential race of the organisation. Chaudhary remained detached from FNCCI thereafter. However, he attended the inaugural ceremony of the 51st AGM of FNCCI on request of FNCCI President Pashupati Murarka. Attendees opined that participation of Chaudhary in the FNCCI event has shown unity of private sector at a crucial time when the country is marching towards development.

Meanwhile, FNCCI also honoured individuals who have been able to set a trend in different sectors of the country with the ‘FNCCI Gold Award.’ The awardees included Himalaya Shamsher Jang Bahadur Rana, first governor of Nepal Rastra Bank (financial sector), Karna Shakya (tourism), Birendra Bahadur Basnet (aviation), Kailash Sirohiya (media), Nakim Udin (entertainment), Rudra Raj Pandey (IT), Suresh Raj Sharma (education), Sanduk Ruit (health), Anuradha Koirala (social service), Kul Man Ghising (public service), late Ram Lal Golchha (manufacturing) and late Laxman Babu Shrestha (service).