Nepal | July 04, 2020

NRA extends first instalment of grant

Himalayan News Service
Share Now:

Kathmandu, April 1

At least 641 households in Lamidada and Ladruk villages of Dolakha district have entered into agreements with the National Reconstruction Authority (NRA) to obtain the first instalment of the grant amount that the government has pledged to extend to survivors whose houses were completely destroyed by the earthquakes of April and May.

The grants are being extended based on these agreements.

The government has pledged to extend a grant of Rs 200,000 to every owner whose house was destroyed by the quakes. This amount would be provided in three instalments of Rs 50,000, Rs 80,000 and Rs 70,000.

“We will start extending the first instalment of the grant amount in 10 additional districts — other than in Kathmandu Valley — that were badly hit by the quakes within mid-April,” NRA CEO Sushil Gyewali told the Parliamentary Committee on Good Governance and Monitoring today.

The NRA had started extending the first instalment of the grant amount from Dolakha district on March 13.

“But after distributing money to 500 or so households in the district, secretaries of many village development committees had abruptly brought the process to a halt demanding perks,” an official of the NRA told The Himalayan Times.

After hearing this complaint, Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli, during a meeting called to hold discussions with chief district officers and local development officers of 14 districts that were badly hit by the quakes, had said: “I can’t imagine officials showing such ruthless behaviour at a time when the nation is passing through a difficult phase. But if it is true, authorities should not hesitate to relocate them because we must do everything to assist earthquake victims.”

The PM held the view that reconstruction works are already moving ahead at a snail’s pace and hurdles created by staff will further decelerate the pace of rebuilding the nation.

The earthquakes have caused severe destructions in 14 districts, namely Dolakha, Sindhupalchowk, Gorkha, Nuwakot, Rasuwa, Dhading, Kavrepalanchowk, Ramechhap, Bhaktapur, Okhaldhunga, Sindhuli, Lalitpur, Kathmandu and Makwanpur.

Besides, districts such as Lamjung, Chitwan, Tanahu, Khotang, Syangja, Palpa, Baglung, Gulmi, Solukhumbu, Kaski, Parbat, Myagdi, Arghakhanchi, Nawalparasi, Bhojpur, Dhankuta and Sankhuwasabha have also been affected by the quakes.

The quakes claimed around 9,000 lives, completely destroyed around 591,647 private houses, affected livelihoods of about 5.6 million workers and caused damage and losses worth around Rs 706.46 billion.

What was even more worrying was threat posed by the disasters to erode some of the gains
made in fighting absolute poverty, as it was feared as many as 982,000 additional people — or 3.5 per cent of the total population — would slip back into the trap of poverty.

Worse, the devastating quakes shaved an estimated Rs 36.52 billion off the projected gross domestic product, limiting economic growth of fiscal year 2014-15 to 3.04 per cent — the lowest since fiscal 2006-07.


A version of this article appears in print on April 02, 2016 of The Himalayan Times.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories:

More from The Himalayan Times:

EU, UNICEF to prevent malnutrition in Nepal

KATHMANDU, JULY 2 European Union and UNICEF have expanded their partnership on nutrition to prevent malnutrition in children due to the socio-economic impact of the pandemic. Socio-economic impact of the COVID-19 crisis has pushed many vulnerable families across Nepal into deeper poverty and h Read More...

Farmers busy with paddy plantation

BHAIRAHAWA, JULY 2 Local farmers are planting paddy saplings despite the risk of coronavirus, in Bhairahawa. Farmers started planting paddy as fertiliser was easily available. Farmers are attracted to the government subsidy on fertiliser compared to the substandard fertilisers brought f Read More...

COVID tests not expanded in Sudurpaschim

BHIMDATTANAGAR, JULY 2 Sudurpaschim Province government has so far spent Rs 13.4 million on the purchase of PCR and RDT kits for conducting tests for coronavirus. Some days back, the province government had made public its expenditure on prevention, treatment and management of COVID-19. It Read More...

Tamor River, Taplejung district, Flooded river

Lack of bridge forces locals to risk lives

DHANKUTA, JULY 2 As there is no bridge over the Tamor River, locals of Sadamtar in Chaubise Rural Municipality and Teliya in Chhathar Rural Municipality, Dhankuta, are risking their lives while crossing the river. According to Chhathar Rural Municipality Ward 5 Chair Tek Bahadur Tamang, people Read More...

House wall collapse buries child to death

SAPTARI, JULY 2 A child died when a house that was being demolished crushed him at Siswa in Khadak Municipality, Saptari, today. Eeight-year-old Umesh Mandal lost his life after the wall of a house belonging to Babu Jha collapsed and buried him. Inspector Ramraja Keshari at Kadarbona Area P Read More...

Gandaki PA panel president donates perks to corona fund

POKHARA, JULY 2 Gandaki Province Public Accounts Committee President Kumar Khadka has declared he will be donating part of his facilities to the Corona Fund in the province. He made the announcement while tabling a protest notice on the bill tabled at the PA meeting proposing facilities for th Read More...

Family of deceased in dire straits

BAJURA, JULY 2 Six members of a family, who had lived in India for the last 24 years, returned to their hometown in Badimalika Municipality, Bajura, after the COVID-19 crisis affected their lives in India. Kalamati Damai, along with her ill husband and other family members returned to Majhigau Read More...

Actors take to social media to support Samragyee

KATHMANDU: Actors Reecha Sharma, Nisha Adhikari Malla, Priyanka Karki, Karma, Aashirman DS Joshi among other artistes from the Nepali film fraternity have come forward on social media to support Samragyee RL Shah who has shared a series of videos regarding her bad experience in the industry. “A Read More...