Hetauda, November 16:

A committee — comprising of chairmen of nine District Development Committees (DDCs) — has been formed to initiate the process for the construction of electronic railway connecting the capital city Kathmandu and Birgunj.

In an interaction programme, organised in Hetauda yesterday, nine DDCs have agreed to take initiatives to construct the electronic railway connecting Birgunj Dry port to Kathmandu through Pathlaiyya and Hetauda.

The committee formed under the coordination of Rabindra Chakrawarty, regional administrator of the Central Development Region, includes DDC chairman of Makwanpur

as assistant coordinator, Local Development Officer (LDO) as a member

secretary and DDC chairmen of Bara, Parsa, Rautahat, Kavre, Kathmandu, Bhaktapur, Lalitpur and Sindhupalchowk districts as its members.

“As per the King’s directive in Pathlaiyya during his visit to the region on September 15, the responsible officials of the DDCs have decided to take initiatives of the construction of

electronic railway’,” Chakra-warty said. The importance of electronic railway — to expand trade relations to neighbouring countries, India and China, to provide alternatives

for highways connecting the capital and to simplify the trade and transportation — is highlighted during the interaction.

Birendra Keshari Pokharel, an engineer, on the occasion, informed that detailed study of the electronic railway project has also been completed. the committee also decide to hold a meeting of the railway construction committee very soon.

Tanka Bahadur Gyalan, a Royal council member, Lok Bahadur Thapa, National Assembly member, Mod Raj Dotel, chief district officer, Purna Chandra Bhattarai local development officer and chairmen of DDCs also addressed the meeting. They underlined the importance of the electronic railway.

Similarly, a separate committee has also been formed — under the coordination of Bikram Bahadur Thapa, DDC chairman of Kathmandu with Lalitpur and Makawanpur districts chairmen as members — for the construction of four alternative highways to link mid-Terai region to Kathmandu district.