Six expedition permits issued for winter season


A total of six expedition permits have been issued so far for the winter season of the current fiscal year, 2020-21.

According to the Department of Tourism (DoT), six teams have received expedition permits for peaks ranging above 5,000 metres to 6,814 metres. Of the total permits issued, two permits are for Mt Amadablam (6,814 m), and one permit each for Mt Luza peak (5,726 m), Mt Kyungya Ri 2 (6,506 m), Mt Surma Sarovar (6,523 m) and Mt Rokapi (5,467).

The six teams comprise 16 climbers. Of them, three have received permits for Mt Luza Peak, one has received permit for Mt Kyungya Ri, eight climbers from two teams are climbing Mt Amadablam. Similarly, two climbers are attempting to scale Mt Surma Sarovar while two other climbers are climbing Mt Rokapi during this winter season.

According to the department, the number of climbers is likely to increase this winter season compared to previous years. In 2020, a total of 27 winter expedition permits were issued by the department. However, not all of them were successful as the expeditions had to be cancelled due to the coronavirus pandemic.

After the government allowed trekking and mountaineering activities to resume from October 17, the number of trekkers are also gradually increasing. However, the numbers are below that of the pre-pandemic level.

Amid this, the government has collected Rs 238,128 expedition royalty from winter expeditions.

Of which, Rs 183,650 has been collected from Mt Amadablam alone.

Winter expedition falls between December and March.

The department has said the climbers will be required to strictly follow all health measures during the expedition period.

The department as well as the Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation have set a health safety protocol for trekkers and mountaineers.