Saayas shine at awards nite


There was everything for all Nepali music lovers, whether it was classical fusion, rock, folk or metal at the 10th annual Closeup Hits FM music awards held at BICC on January 19.

Though the programme started a bit later than the scheduled time, it was short and sweet and the venue came alive with most of the artistes of the Nepali music industry and their fans attending the function. A well-designed set, good lighting and sound system made the evening memorable.

Saayas, a new band, walked away with the highest number of awards. They won three awards — for all the categories they were nominated for. Sabin Rai took home two awards, and the amount of cheering from the audience was proof of his popularity.

The lifetime achievement award was presented to Kiran Kharel for his contribution to the Nepali music world as a lyricist. His first song was recorded in 2014 BS. He started his career with the composition from the film Maitighar — Na mana laj yasari and Ma pyar bechi dinchu and other songs. In 2022 BS, he joined Radio Nepal and started the programme Sundar sushil sangeet. He has worked in more than 100 movies from Maiti ghar to Krodh.

On getting the award, Kharel said, “I could not do as much as I had wished in the last 50 years for the music industry, but whatever I have done, I did it with honesty.”

The show started with a classical fusion recital of guitar, sitar, tabala, murali and sarangi by various artistes. The recital was enthralling and the crowd cheered when they played Kalilo tama lai.

A tribute was paid to late actor Shiva Shankar.

Sabin Rai, sporting a new hairdo, performed with a young boy who accompanied him on the keyboards.

The crowd hummed along with Sunil Bardewa as he sang his hit number Goreto ani ustai cha gall from yesteryears. Looza and Kutumba presented a rocking performance, whereas the folk hit Samdi jui had the crowd clap and sing along.

The event was sponsored by Close Up in association with Himalayan Bank, Machhapuchchhre Bank, Nepal Share Markets and finance limited and supported by Hero Honda and Philips.

• Best new artist: Saayas

• Best song in foreign language: Sacred (Albatross)

• Best music video: Birsun bhanchhu (Asim Chitrakar)

• Best rock composition: Pahilo Maya (Saayas)

• Best pop composition: Samjahan haru lai (Sabin Rai)

• Best composition: Purano hundaina (Suresh Adhikari)

• Best song originally recorded for a motion picture soundtrack: Saathi (Pandit Bajey) Suresh Adhikari

• Best vocal collaboration: Chyangba (Various artistes)

• Best performance by a group/duo with vocal: Pahilo maya (Saayas)

• Folk record of the year: Sararara Pani Ghatama (Purshottam Neupane, Bina Kumari)

• Folk album of the year: Timi gayau arkaiko dolima (Bimal K Dangi)

Best pop vocal performance

• Female: Pharkhena maya (Shubani Moktan)

• Male: Ma sansaar jitne (Sabin Rai)

Best vocal performance

• Female: Kasko aankha (Reema Gurung)

• Male: Tapoban (Jagdish Samal)

• Song of the year: Katinjel (Ratna Shamsher Thapa)

• Album of the year: Suskera (Shishir Yogi)

• Record of the year: Saathi (Sugam Pokharel)