Nepal | April 10, 2020

13 new ministers take oath from President

THT Online
new ministers with president pm

Newly appointed minister pose for a photograph with President Bidya Devi Bhandari, Vice-President Nanda Bahadur Pun, Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal and Speaker Onsari Gharti, at the Sheetal Niwas, on Friday, August 26, 2016. Photo: RSS

KATHMANDU: President Bidya Devi Bhandari on Friday morning administered the oath of office and secrecy to 13 new ministers.

Inducting leaders from the Nepali Congress, Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal has expanded the coalition Cabinet.

The new ministers took the oath from the Head of the State amid a special function at the Sheetal Niwas today.

Dignitaries including Vice-President Nanda Bahadur Pun, PM Dahal, Speaker Onsari Gharti Magar, deputy prime ministers and ministers, political party leaders, chiefs of constitutional bodies, representatives of Kathmandu-based diplomatic missions and high level government officials were present on the occasion.

The new ministers sworn in today are:

  1. Arjun Narasingha KC, Minister for Urban Development
  2. Prakash Sharan Mahat, Minister for Foreign Affairs
  3. Bal Krishna Khand, Minister for Defence
  4. Keshav Kumar Budhathoki, Minister for General Administration
  5. Gagan Kumar Thapa, Minister for Health
  6. Shankar Bhandari, Minister for Forests and Soil Conservation
  7. Sita Devi Yadav, Minister for Peace and Reconstruction
  8. Hridaya Ram Thani, Minister for Cooperatives and Poverty Alleviation
  9. Romi Gauchan Thakali, Minister for Commerce
  10. Deepak Giri, Minister for Irrigation
  11. Nabindra Raj Joshi, Minister for Industry
  12. Jeevan Bahadur Shahi, Minister for Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation
  13. Surya Man Gurung, Minister for Labour and Employment
Newly appointed ministers take the oath of office and secrecy

Newly appointed ministers take the oath of office and secrecy from President Bidya Devi Bhandari, on Friday, August 26, 2016. Photo: RSS

Earlier, the party had sent Bimalendra Nidhi and Ramesh Lekhak to the Cabinet as the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Home Affairs and the Minister for Physical Infrastructure and Transport respectively.

It has been learned that the ministers would assume their office today itself.

They were recommended for the ministerial berths by the party yesterday.


Cabinet members after the expansion on Friday, August 26, 2016
S.N.  Name Portfolio
1. Puspa Kamal Dahal Water Supply and Sanitation; Livestock Development;

Women, Children and Social Welfare Development;

Science and Technology

2. DPM Bimalendra Nidhi Home Affairs
3. DPM Krishna Bahadur Mahara Finance
4. Arjun Narsingh KC Urban Development
5. Ramesh Lekhak Physical Infrastructure and Transportation
6. Janardan Sharma Energy
7. Prakash Sharan Mahat Foreign Affairs
8. Bal Krishna Khand Defense
9. Deepak Bohara Supplies
10. Suryaman Gurung Labor and Employment
11. Gauri Shankar Chaudhari Agricultural Development
12. Daljit Shrepaili Youth and Sports
13. Bikram Panday Land Reform and Management
14. Jayadev Joshi Population and Environment
15. Hitraj Panday Federal Affairs and Local Development
16. Surendra Kumar Karki Information and Communication
17. Dhaniram Paudel Education
18. Ajaya Shankar Nayak Law, Justice, & Parliamentary Affairs
19. Keshab Kumar Budhathoki General Administration
20. Romi Gauchan Thakali Commerce
21. Sitadevi Yadav Peace and Reconstruction
22. Jeevan Bahadur Shahi Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation
23. Deepak Giri Irrigation
24. Nabindra Raj Joshi Industry
25. Shankar Bhandari Forest and Soil Conservation
26. Gagan Kumar Thapa Health
27. Hridaya Ram Thani Cooperatives and Poverty Alleviation
State Ministers
28. Shreprasad Jawegu Federal Affairs and Local Development
29. Satya Narayan Bhagat Energy
30. Radhika Tamang Agricultural Development
31. Dhana Maya BK Without portfolio


Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories: