21 parties apply to contest NA election

Kathmandu, January 12

The Election Commission today said 21 political parties had applied to contest the National Assembly election slated for February 7.

The poll panel, which had given a 15-day time for the parties to register with it to contest the NA election, said that the deadline for registration ended today. Nepal Workers and Peasants Party, Bibeksheel Sajha Party, Nepal Sanghiya Samajbadi Party , Sanghiya Loktantrik Rastriya Manch, Bahujan Shakti Party, Nepal Pariwar Dal, Nepali Congress, Rastriya Janamorcha, Nepal Naulo Janabadi, Rastriya Prajatantra Party-Democratic, CPN-UML, Federal Socialist Forum-Nepal, Naya Shakti Party-Nepal, Nepal Dalit Party, Rastriya Janata Party-Nepal, CPN-Maoist Centre, Nepali Janata Dal and Rastriya Mukti Andolan Nepal are among the parties that registered with EC to contest the NA election.

The EC said that the parties had to register with it  to contest the NA election, as per Article 271 of the constitution and Section 48 or 49 of Act related to political parties-2017.

Meanwhile, a meeting of the EC presided over by Chief Election Commissioner Ayodhi Prasad urged the government to appoint governors in all seven provinces.

Issuing a press release, EC Spokesperson Navaraj Dhakal said the meeting reminded the government about the NA election schedule published by the poll panel earlier. He said the EC had to declare the results of provincial polls and send them to governors within seven days, as per the constitution.