51 election candidates over 80 years of age

Kathmandu, June 24

A total of 51 senior citizens, who have already celebrated their 80th birthday, have filed their candidacies for different posts in the second-phase of local-level elections taking place in 35 districts of three provinces—1,5 and 7 on June 28. Of them, three are nonagenarians.

Among the senior candidates, three are mayoral candidates and two are candidates for chief of rural municipality, 16 for ward chair and the candidacies of the remaining 29 are for ward members under different categories.

Bishnu Bahadur Rawal, who is approaching his 100th birthday, is contesting for the post of ward chair in Durgathali Rural Municipality as a Nepali Congress candidate. As per his citizenship certificate, his date of birth is May 30, 1919. He is probably the most senior candidate in the second-round of local elections, according to District Election Office, Bajhang.

Likewise, Tek Bahadur Tamang from the CPN-UML has filed his candidacy for member of Champa Devi Rural Municipality-5 in Okhaldhunga while Safid Miya, 93, from the same party is running for ward member in Koshi Rural Municipality-8 in Sunsari district.

Similarly, UML’s Hira Mani Sharma Pokharel, 87, is competing for ward chairperson in Itahari Sub Metropolitan City-5, Sunsari.

Independent candidate Dev Kumar Bharati, 89, is in the race for mayor in Shivaraj Municipality in Kapilvastu.

Lali Ram Tharu from Rastriya Prajatantra Party has filed his candidacy for ward member in Baija Nath Rural Municipality in Banke.

Likewise, Dalit candidate Jasodhara Chamarni, 86, from Mahdesi Janadhikar Forum (Democratic) is competing for ward member in Gulariya Municipality-3 in Bardiya.

Rewanta Bahadur Bista, 81, and Bhagauti Tharu of the same age, both from the RPP have filed their candidacy for mayor in Tansen Municipality in Palpa and mayor in Kohalpur Municipality in Banke respectively.


Dambar Bahadur Rai is running for ward chairperson in Phakphokthum Rural Municipality in Ilam from the RPP, while independent candidate Devi Singh Thami, 81, for ward chairperson in Sigas Rural Municipality in Baitadi.