549 lawmakers cast votes in presidential election

KATHMANDU: Voting process for the election of President has concluded.

The voting process that started at 11 am ended at 2 pm on Wednesday.

Out of 597 members, only 549 had cast their votes, according to the Parliament Secretariat.

It has been learned that 47 members were absent in the election and one was suspended.

The vote counting would start from 2:30 pm today.

CPN-UML Vice-Chair Bidya Devi Bhandai and Nepali Congress veteran leader Kul Bahadur Gurung are on the fray for the post of President.

Bhandari was proposed by UCPN-Maoist Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal and leaders of coalition partners Kamal Thapa, Yogendra Chaudhary, Dipak Bohora, CP Mainali, Prem Bahadur Singh, Jayadev Joshi, Chitra Bahadur KC, Shivalal Thapa, Biswendra Paswan, Laxman Rajbanshi, Eknath Dhakal and Meghraj Nepali seconded Bhandari’s candidacy.

Nepali Congress leader Kul Bahadur Gurung was proposed by party General Secretary Prakash Man Singh and seconded by another General Secretary Krishna Prasad Sitaula.