Nepal | August 19, 2019

81,790 to be conferred awards and decorations

Himalayan News Service
President Bidya Devi Bhandari

President Bidya Devi Bhandari lights Panas lamp to inaugurate the 106th International Women’s Day in Kathmandu, on Tuesday, March 8, 2016. Photo: RSS

Kathmandu, May 28
President Bidhya Devi Bhandari on Saturday announced to confer medals, awards, decoration and honours on 81,790 personalities, living or dead, from different walks of life in recognition of their contributions to the country.

The announcement was made to mark the ninth Republic Day. According to a press release issued by the Ministry of Home Affairs, Nepal Ratna Man Padavi, the highest civilian award, will be presented to Madan Kumar Bhandari posthumously. Similarly, Gauravshali Man Padavi will go to Sushil Koirala (posthumously) and Subas Chandra Nembang.

Mahaujjwal Kirtimaya Rastradeep Man Padavi will be conferred on Surya Bahadur Thapa, Nara Bahadur Karmacharya, Posta Bahadur Bogati and Nirmal Lama (posthumously), and Ramhari Joshi. Yuba Raj Khatiwada, Barsha Man Pun, Janardan Sharma, Baidyanath Upadhyay, Bhanu Prasad Acharya will receive Prasidhha Prabal Janasewashree award. Somlal Subedi, Rajendra Chhetri, Lok Darshan Regmi, Upendra Kant Aryal, Durja Kumar Rai and Dilip Raj Regmi will be recognised with Sukritimaya Rastradeep Man Padavi.

Likewise, Suprabal Janasewashree Man Padavi will be awarded to 82 persons, Prabal Jansewashree Man Padavi to 135 and Janasewashree to 51. As many as 16 person will be honoured with Alankar and 65 with Padak.

Similarly, 56,279 persons will be decorated with Natural Disaster Victims Rescue Medal under the Vibhushan Act. President Bhandari will also hand over Letter of Appreciation to 25,122 person to recognise their contribution to making the 18th SAARC Summit a success. Pilot Dinesh Neupane and co-pilot Santosh Rana will be honoured with Bravery Award posthumously.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories: